Unacceptable Foods for People with Celiac Disease

Studies show that as many as 1 in 22 people suffer from Celiac disease, a statistic some researchers believe has more than tripled in the last decade alone.  Celiac disease can make eating a difficult task, a task that can end with unintentionally devastating results if the sufferer is not aware of the foods that can trigger problems within his or her body.   Because the number of people now suffering from Celiac disease is greater than ever before, the understanding of the need for awareness of gluten containing foods is also greater than ever.  Many food manufacturers today are choosing to advertising the gluten-free status of their products, but there are still many products out there with no indication as to whether or not they contain gluten. Wheat is the greatest enemy of anyone suffering from Celiac disease, but there are many other sources of gluten that can be harder to keep track of.  Having a Celiac food list that shows the unacceptable foods for a Celiac disease sufferer to consume can greatly reduce the risk of unintentionally consuming gluten-containing products.

 

Shopping at the grocery store for foods that do not contain gluten can be a long process.  Obviously, any item that contains gluuten in the ingredient statement is an easy item to avoid, but memorizing every single food item that contains gluten is a near impossible task.   To reduce the amount of time one spends checking ingredient statements for key gluten-containing items, try carrying a Celiac food list that contains not only acceptable but also unacceptable groups of food.  This will help generalize items to stay away from or items you need to specifically check to see if a gluten-free alternative is available.

 

Keeping your diet gluten-free can be a task, but making that task easy is as simple as familiarizing yourself with acceptable and unacceptable foods and food groups and keeping a list of those foods on hand with you any time you visit the grocery store.  The celiac disease diagnosis — intolerance to protein gluten — means patients should avoid all types of foods that have gluten, which includes all the products that are made with barley, wheat, rye or any related grains. The diet without the common ingredients might appear very restrictive initially, still there are a lot of alternative grains, like teff (cereal grain native to the northeastern Africa), which don’t have naturally occurring gluten & is used very safely as the gluten substitutes.

 

First deals with the oats: The recent research recommended that real oats don’t have gluten and seem to be very safe for the people with the celiac disease, however getting oats, which haven’t been contaminated with the gluten during food manufacturing procedure is hard. Thus, the experts at present recommend that the people with the celiac disease generally avoid oats & all oats derivatives, which includes oat fiber, oat bran, and oat gum.

 

Second deals with the alcohol: Even though many spirits like vodka, gin, and whiskey are actually made with the grains, which have gluten, study has demonstrated gluten does not survive distilling process & is undetectable in final product. Due to this research, Celiac Association and Celiac Disease Foundation of United States say such spirits are actually acceptable for the people with the celiac disease.

 

So, ask your dietitian or doctor if it is safe to drink vodka, gin, or whiskey. Check that the product’s label has “gluten free” or with manufacturer that the product is totally gluten free before drinking it. Many gluten free products generally come in contact with the gluten during processing and causing contamination.

More Articles